Plans Etched In Stone

writing_on_stone-1920x1080After facing a major disappointment about two weeks ago, it occurred to me that no matter how awesome our plans may be, God’s timing or plan might be totally different from ours. God always sees the bigger picture. You see, after this particular setback occurred, I was so destabilized that I couldn’t even write a thing. I felt like my inspiration borrowed wings and flew away. I became quite touchy, moody, and I rarely spoke. It was until a few days after the disappointment that I began to realize that I always get what I needed, and I figured that if I didn’t get what I wanted at my own time then God must have a better plan. Plans are good, but at the same time we should know that it wouldn’t be wise to etch them in stone. Whenever we make plans and firmly believe that nothing can go wrong, we are just setting ourselves up for frustration in the long run. We are humans, the best we can do is to trust God, do our part, hope and pray for the best. When we make plans and place all our hopes on it, we forget that we cannot time travel to know what tomorrow holds.

It’s what we believe in our hearts and not just what we know in our heads that would truly help us when life throws the unexpected at us. It would be profitable to firmly believe that God knows the end from the beginning and his timing is always on point. He never misses his mark. We are like arrows in his quiver; he knows when and where to shoot each one of us. I love that part in the book of Jeremiah that says God’s thoughts toward us are of peace and not of evil, to give us a future and a hope. Most times when I’m sad, I choose to look back at my life and count how many times things actually went right. If God was still God then, how much more now? God knows what he is doing with our lives. We are masterpieces; every dent and engraving caused by disappointments or loss has a purpose that would eventually work out for our good. Ten years from now, I’m sure you’ll look back and thank God for some setbacks that came along the way; this is because we are likely to see the bigger picture and appreciate its beauty when we view it from a distance. Make your plans flexible and allow God do his thing in your life.

P.S. I must confess that I dumped Wendy for  while  (for reasons I just explained), but thankfully I’ve come back to my senses and I’ve resumed work on it. So Wendy VI would be posted within the week. Love ya’ll. 😉

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. wordsmithf says:

    This was a good read. Thank you so much 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Noble Precious Gentle says:

    Your write-ups has really being a Blessing and a source of inspiration to me…
    I was touched by the below selected lines of words – most especially my second one here, from your entire write-up:

    1) “Whenever we make plans and
    firmly believe that nothing can go
    wrong, we are just setting
    ourselves up for frustration in
    the long run. We are humans, the
    best we can do is to trust God…”

    2) “It’s what we believe in our hearts
    and not just what we know in
    our heads that would truly help
    us when life throws the unexpected at us…”

    God bless you my dear! I still love you by force!

    Like

Leave a Reply

